The Archer

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Be the Change.”

I’ll be honest with you. This is my third attempt at blogging. The first time, I never really went back after my first two posts. I managed seven or eight the second time around, but gave up again. Third time’s the charm, they say.

Also, I am a Sagittarius.

The abrupt and supposedly completely unrelated statement above has relevance; I assure you.

Sagittarius are fickle, to put it nicely. Determined, yes, but fickle. We think of the future, and not the present. And again, I put this in a very light-hearted way, because we are obsessed with the future. We will be so busy thinking of what can happen that we can actually forget the task at hand. Thus, whatever we do, we always have a notion related to it; a vision that we strive to achieve.

The only problem is that we like driving fast, and the absence of quick results makes us restless. When I first started blogging, I had dreams that I would upload such amazing posts as will make me the greatest blogger in the history of cyberspace. Did I tell you we are a little extravagant as well?

I didn’t become the greatest blogger in history, obviously. I wouldn’t be writing this otherwise. But, I did get frustrated. What I didn’t realize then was that blogging is a slow and gradual process which takes time and commitment. Again, something us winter born people have trouble with. Also, I just realized that I am blaming my zodiac sign for everything that is my own doing.

My biggest flaw as a writer is that I am too attached to moods, and that I am lazy. I might have a lot of topics that I want to write about, but won’t if picking up the laptop feels like a chore. I regret to say that I have missed out on quite a few opportunities due to this. Additionally, I am impatient, and therefore, need results. If I don’t see action on my blog, I probably won’t write. By the way, this is a not a way to coerce you into reading.

Thus, I don’t hope to bring about a revolution with this third venture, but I do believe that as far as first blog posts go, this is not bad. However, I am largely a cyber being, which means I have more internet websites to visit than friends. I do want to have my voice heard through this platform, because speaking, frankly, is a chore when the other person does not have anything interesting to say (though I can’t figure out whom this statement insults more: me or the other person?).

My only goal with this blog will thus be to stick to it. With this blog, I hope to cultivate in myself responsibility. If I can take care of this as I would a baby, I feel it would be the closest I will come to personal development and success. As the Sagittarius archer would, I would take aim, and shoot to win. That’s how I hope to be the change.

On a slightly unrelated note, I would like to be less afraid of mice this year, because there is one in my room right now, which is why I can’t sleep.

Since this is a new adventure, I need some inspiring music. Eye of the Tiger would do.

5 thoughts on “The Archer

  1. Hi,

    I’ve done blogging in the past too, and it became successful. I didn’t bocame the greatest blogger in history too. I took it for granted cause I got more busy in school. That was years ago, and now I’m back for good.

    I have a best friend for 11 years, she’s also a Sagittarius.
    Your post reminded me of her a lot,
    but the way you talk about the future made me think more of myself.

    Anyway, I just started my blog and later, I’m going to post my third post.
    So good luck to both of us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry for this late reply! Like I said, fickle-minded Sagittarians and what not!
      I hope your blog is going well! I took a temporary hiatus but am back now, so I’ll be sure to check it out. 😁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi, it’s nice to hear from you.
        It’s okay. I’m sure you’re busy. 🙂

        My blog is well, but I’m experiencing some writer’s block and depression at the moment.

        Hopefully, I’ll figure some things out.
        My blog needs some fixing, maybe you could suggest something if you have time.

        If you need help, you could talk to me too. 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

